The St. Michael’s Buzzers date back to at least 1920, as future NHLer Bobby Bauer had made his home at St. Mikes for the 1930-31 season. The team was founded IN 1932-33.

The Buzzers won the first ever Sutherland Cup as All-Ontario Junior “B” Champions in 1934, and won it again in 1936, 1945, 1961, 1982, and 1989. They also won the Frank L. Buckland Trophy as OJHL Champions in 2005, 2006.and 2013.

The 1933-34 season saw them finish second in the Ontario Hockey Association Junior Hockey League behind their own parent club, the Toronto St. Michael’s Majors. As “A” champions, the Majors went on to win the Memorial Cup, while the Buzzers went on to win the Sutherland Cup as Ontario “B” champions. The next season, the Big 10 Junior B league was formed and the Buzzers left to join it.

In the 1950s, the Buzzers established themselves in the Metro Junior B Hockey League. In 1961, the Buzzers defeated the Big 10’s Owen Sound Greys 4-games-to-none to win the Sutherland Cup. They sat from 1961 to 1963 as their parent club, the Toronto St. Michael’s Majors, struggled financially. In 1966-67 the team again took a one-year leave of absence. Despite this, the Buzzers played during the glory years of the Metro league. In 1972, the Ontario Provincial Junior A Hockey League was formed and raided the league for all but four of its charter members, of which one of these teams folded. A season later, the OPJHL also took the Markham Waxers leaving the Metro league with only the Buzzers and Toronto Nationals as the league’s original blood. By 1980, the Nationals had folded and had left the Buzzers as the only team left in a twelve team league that pre-dated the 1972 realignment.

The team again took a leave of absence in 1989 after their Sutherland Cup championship, after the Metro League’s dispute with the OHA. The following season the Vaughan Raiders merged with the Buzzers, assuming the Buzzer name. The Buzzers left the Metro league in 1995 to join the new Ontario Provincial Junior A Hockey League.

The Buzzers disbanded in 1997 to make way for the Ontario Hockey League’s St. Michael’s Majors. They reformed in 1999. They were reigning OPJHL Champions in 2004-05, 2005-06 and 2012-13.